Glenfiddich Piping Championship

The Glenfiddich Piping Championship was established in 1974 to inspire and stimulate the world’s finest individual pipers and to seek the best overall exponents of ceol mor or piobaireachd (the great music) and ceol beag (the little music).

Following strict Covid-19 guidelines and behind closed doors, the 47th Glenfiddich Piping Championship took place at Blair Castle on Friday 30th October 2020. The results are as follows -


1st Jack Lee - Lament for Colin Roy MacKenzie
2nd Stuart Liddell - In Praise of Morag
3rd Finlay Johnston - Rory MacLoude’s Lament
4th Roderick MacLeod - The Battle of Auldern No 2
Angus MacColl - The Unjust Incarceration


1st William McCallum - Angus Campbell’s Farewell to Stirling, The Shepherd’s Crook, Bessie Macintyre
2nd Stuart Liddell - The Duke of Roxburgh’s Farewell to the Blackmount Forest,Catlodge, Drumlithie.
3rd Roderick MacLeod - The Marchioness of Tulliebardine, The Piper’s Bonnet, The Grey Bob.
4th Bruce Gandy - Leaving Lunga, The Ewe wi’ the Crookit Horn, Stornoway Castle.
Iain Speirs - The Royal Scottish Pipers’ Society, Tulloch Gorm, John MacKechnie’s Big Reel


1st Stuart Liddell
2nd Jack Lee
3rd Roderick MacLeod

THE BALVENIE MEDAL FOR SERVICES TO PIPING was not presented this year.

The 2021 Glenfiddich Piping Championship will be held on Saturday, 30th October in Blair Castle, Blair Atholl.

For further information please contact telephone 0845 602 1974 or The National Piping Centre, telephone 0141 353 0220